About Bahrain

Bahrain is an Arabic word meaning “Two Seas” and refers to the two sources of water surrounding the islands, fresh water springs and the surrounding seas. Bahrain is an archipelago of 33 small islands and enjoys a strategic location in the Arabian Gulf midway between the Qatar peninsula and Saudi Arabia. It is connected to Saudi Arabia by a 25km causeway. Bahrain is divided into five governates : Capital, Central, Muharraq, Northern and Southern. Apart from its booming financial services sector, Bahrain main products are aluminum, crude and refined oil, petrochemicals and gas.

The Kingdom of Bahrain is 711 sq kilometres (48km long, 16km wide) with a population: 1.425 million (2016). Manama is the Capital of Bahrain. While Arabic is Bahrain’s official language, English is widely spoken, especially for business purposes.  Although Islam is the official state religion practiced by more than 80 per cent of the population, Bahrain is very tolerant to other beliefs. The Time Zone is GMT +3 hours, and the International Telephone Country code is +973. The Bahrain Dinar is the local Currency which is divided into 1,000 fils. Notes are available in denominations of BD .500 fils, BD 1, 5, 10 and 20.

For more insights visit the given websites:

Weblink: www.btea.bhwww.bahrainweather.gov.bh

Book Now